Mosaic Companies Mosaically
 

Mosaically Mosaically

Mosaically

Mosaically was started in 2007 and is the newest company on our review list. Originally the site was oriented toward automobile mosaics, however they have recently transitioned to include general themed mosaics.The services and website is geared to utilize their internal stock photos as cell images, however they do advertise the ability to use the client's cell photos.

Mosaically was started in 2007 and is the newest company on our review list. Originally the site was oriented toward automobile mosaics, however they have recently transitioned to include general themed mosaics.The services and website is geared to utilize their internal stock photos as cell images, however they do advertise the ability to use the client's cell photos. The company does offer a free preview of your mosaic before you place an order.

Editor review

Mosaically 2008-03-24 00:27:17 melissa
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Large Cells 
 
6.0
No Superimposing 
 
5.0
Low Colorization 
 
3.0
Source Clarity 
 
6.0
Print Resolution 
 
6.0
Image Usage 
 
5.0
Price 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Ease of Ordering 
 
1.0
Reviewed by melissa    March 24, 2008
Last updated: April 15, 2008 View all my reviews

Ordering process very confusing, mosaic has issues

Our Review:
The ordering process we found to be very confusing. After several attempts and visiting nearly every page on their website, we decided to take them up on their free preview option. Uploading our pictures took several attempts, however eventually we were able to upload our photos. After uploading was complete, we were not sure if we were going to ever receive a mosaic preview as all the screen said was "Thank you, your upload is complete", and thats it. After about 4 days we did receive our preview. We approved the preview and finally figured out send money to Mosaically.
The print arrived about a week later and at first we were very pleased with the mosaic print. However after closer inspection, we realized that the mosaic used quite a bit of colorization and actually superimposed the target source image on top of the cells in a few areas.

The Verdict: This mosaic had promise at first glance, however due to the over use of colorization and the target source being superimposed we could not give this company a high rating.

Was this review helpful to you? 
94
Report this review
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Large Cells 
 
6.0  (3)
No Superimposing 
 
2.0  (3)
Low Colorization 
 
2.3  (3)
Source Clarity 
 
5.3  (3)
Print Resolution 
 
4.0  (3)
Image Usage 
 
5.0  (3)
Price 
 
5.7  (3)
Customer Service 
 
2.7  (3)
Ease of Ordering 
 
2.7  (3)
 
Mosaically 2010-06-17 11:10:14 carolb67
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Large Cells 
 
6.0
No Superimposing 
 
4.0
Low Colorization 
 
5.0
Source Clarity 
 
3.0
Print Resolution 
 
3.0
Image Usage 
 
5.0
Price 
 
6.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Ease of Ordering 
 
2.0
Reviewed by carolb67    June 17, 2010 View all my reviews

What was I thinking?!?!

I selected this company originally because I liked some of the examples that were posted in their gallery. However I found many things to be difficult especially since I am not great with computers. The site seems to take forever to respond. And most importantly the results of the mosaic that the website created was not very artistic, it lacked a personal touch.

I also had problem with how they displayed their mosaics, I often got lost when viewing the mosaic as it seem to zoom into nothing. Needless to say after all of this I decided to go with another company.

Was this review helpful to you? 
43
Report this review
Mosaically 2009-07-24 16:10:52 zackattack
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Large Cells 
 
6.0
No Superimposing 
 
1.0
Low Colorization 
 
1.0
Source Clarity 
 
9.0
Print Resolution 
 
5.0
Image Usage 
 
5.0
Price 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Ease of Ordering 
 
3.0
Reviewed by zackattack    July 24, 2009 View all my reviews

Don't judge a book by its cover.

I was looking to get a cool mosaic done for my brother who is off to college soon, and have it made up of all of our childhood pictures. I didn't want to spend TOO much money on it, and I saw that Mosaically had moderate prices compared to some other companies, but still looked like they knew what they were doing.



The site looked cool and well done, and the examples were clear and nice too. Unfortunately it was a bit misleading. When I received the final product I was disappointed with a handful of things. The 'cell' images were smaller than I thought they were going to be, and a little difficult to see, especially for my parents. Another huge issue was the main image was just overlayed onto the cells. There were blatant lines cutting right through all the smaller images. They just superimposed it right on top. I went back to the site and actually zoomed into the examples and saw that they were all like that. My fault for not further researching I guess.



In the end, I wasn't happy. I still gave it to my brother, but ended up getting him something else as well. I can now understand the differences in price range between all the mosaic companies. I haven't seen or tried any of the other companies out so I can't really comment on them, but if the quality is reflected by the price, I'd be willing to drop the extra cash for the better product.

Was this review helpful to you? 
45
Report this review
Mosaically 2009-07-23 12:39:47 supadoopa
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Large Cells 
 
6.0
No Superimposing 
 
1.0
Low Colorization 
 
1.0
Source Clarity 
 
4.0
Print Resolution 
 
4.0
Image Usage 
 
5.0
Price 
 
6.0
Customer Service 
 
2.0
Ease of Ordering 
 
3.0
Reviewed by supadoopa    July 23, 2009 View all my reviews

please be warned

I was looking for a quick gift and decided to go with mosaically.com, however please be warned, these are not real photo mosaics, it is simply a grid of photos that have the target superimposed (or ghosted) on top of the cell photos. I ended up throwing it away and going with the another service (the one that does real/true mosaics). I just wish I found this site first ;-(



ps. If you are looking for a just looking for a grid of photos with a larger photo ghosted on top, please contact me and I can get my 5-year-old nephew to put something together for you at no cost...seriously.

Was this review helpful to you? 
93
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews